Back to Posts

Rochester Philharmonic League presents Young Artists in Concert

For Immediate Release:  July 8, 2015
RPL, [email protected]



Young Artists in Concert: A Celebration of Winners

Six YAA award winners to perform in free concert at Kilbourn Hall July 12

Rochester, NY – The Rochester Philharmonic League (RPL) will host its seventh annual Young Artists in Concert: A Celebration of Winners on Sunday, July 12 at 7:30 p.m. in Eastman School of Music’s Kilbourn Hall (26 Gibbs Street). The free concert will feature six talented award winners from the 2015 Young Artist Auditions: Catherine Caton (harp), Joy Krasner (marimba), Megan Ormsbee (mezzo soprano), David Steinhardt (guitar), Holden Turner (baritone) and Vivian Yu (piano). The concert is dedicated to the memory of George H. Greer, longtime RPL board member and supporter of Young Artist Auditions. A reception will follow the recital.

More about the performers:

  • Harpist Catherine Caton, winner of the 2015 Helen and George Greer Instrumental Award, is a student of Ann Gullo Bassett, and will be a senior at Spencerport High School this fall.
  • Marimbist Joy Krasner, runner-up for the 2015 Helen and George Greer Instrumental Award, studies with Ruth Cahn and will attend Hamilton College in the fall.
  • Mezzo Megan Ormsbee won the 2015 Tessa Martin Award for Female Vocalists, is a student of Jane Gunter-McCoy, and will be a senior at Pittsford Sutherland High School this fall.
  • Classical guitarist David Steinhardt won the 2015 Aldridge-Tinker Scholarship for Instrumentalists, as well as 2013’s Helen and George Greer Instrumental Award. He’s a student of Petar Kodzas, just graduated Pittsford Mendon High School, and will attend the University of Southern California in the fall.
  • Baritone Holden Turner, winner of the 2015 Jan DeGaetani Scholarship for Vocalists, studies with Mario Martinez and will attend Ithaca College this fall.
  • Pianist Vivian Yu is the 2015 RPL Special Award winner, which provided her with an audition opportunity for a solo appearance with the RPO. She performs tomorrow (July 9, 7:30 p.m.) with the orchestra at Temple B’rith Kodesh, as well as with her fellow YAA winners in this concert. She also won the 2015 Mildred and Julius Ness Award for Piano, is a student of Elier Suarez, and will be a senior this fall at Pittsford Mendon High School.

More about the Young Artist Auditions: The Rochester Philharmonic League has held and funded its annual Young Artist Auditions for high school musicians since 1955. This year’s 60th competition, held at Eastman School of Music on Sunday, March 15, saw 42 talented 10th, 11th and 12th graders from nine counties compete for a total of $4,500 in cash awards and scholarships.

“Many of our winners have gone on to highly successful careers as performers, music educators, and

professionals in other music-related fields,” says RPL President Eileen Ramos. “In addition, performing for an audience in Kilbourn Hall is a wonderful experience for them.”

The Rochester Philharmonic League (RPL) was founded in 1929 as a volunteer support group for the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra. For more than 80 years, the two organizations have collaborated to further their common goal of providing great music and music education in the greater Rochester community. The League’s current activities focus on educating young people about music and the RPO, and on fostering the advancement of music talent in the community’s youth.

The Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra has been committed to enriching and inspiring our community through the art of music since its founding in 1922. The RPO presents approximately 150 concerts and broadcasts a year, serving up to 170,000 people through ticketed events, education and community engagement activities, and concerts in schools and community centers throughout the region. Recently appointed 12th Music Director Ward Stare joins the ranks of former notable RPO music directors, including Eugene Goossens, José Iturbi, Erich Leinsdorf, David Zinman and Conductor Laureate Christopher Seaman. Principal Pops Conductor Jeff Tyzik has earned a national reputation for excellence in pops programming during his 20-year tenure with the RPO. With Michael Butterman as Principal Conductor for Education and Community Engagement (The Louise and Henry Epstein Family Chair)—the first position of its kind in the country—the RPO reaches more than 12,000 children through its specific programs for school-aged children.

Media please note:  Photos are available, and interviews and photo/footage opportunities can be arranged.